Welcome to the official, independent student-run newspaper of Hofstra University!

WRHU earns Marconi 3-peat

WRHU earns Marconi 3-peat

Radio Hofstra University (WRHU-FM) is adding another Marconi Radio Award to their trophy shelf after taking home the prize for “Best College Radio Station” on Thursday, Sept. 26. 

The historic win marked the third time that the student-run station has beat out strong competition from across the country for this prestigious honor. Personnel Director Eli Finkelson, a junior journalism major; Station Manager Kenny Conrade, a senior public relations major; Program Director of Talk Brittany McGowan, a senior video/television and film major; General Manager Bruce Avery and Operations Manager John Mullen all traveled down to Dallas, Texas, for the awards ceremony. 

Established by the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB), the Marconi Awards recognize broadcasting leaders, programmers and on-air talent, as well as entire stations for their success and performance in radio. 

According to the National Association of Broadcasters’ website, the radio stations and personalities honored were “selected by the NAB Marconi Radio Awards Selection Academy. The academy is made up of general managers, program directors, regional executives, owners, programing consultants and former radio executives from across the country.” 

For those in attendance, it was an experience they will never forget. “Going to the Marconis as a junior-year student was an absolute honor. We were in a room of legends and icons, and won the award for best college radio station in the country in front of all of them,” Finkelson said. 

Conrade accepted the award on behalf of the station. “Earning our third Marconi in six years is a testament to our staff of 250+ students and community volunteers that strive every day to put forward professional-level journalism as well as deliver community-based programming,” he said. “Bruce Avery, John Mullen and the leadership of the School of Communication also deserve credit for instilling a great culture that puts an emphasis on student opportunity.” 

In an email sent out to students in the Lawrence Herbert School of Communication, Dean Mark Lukasiewicz congratulated all students and faculty involved. “For the third time ... WRHU 88.7 FM Radio Hofstra University walked away with a national Marconi Award, becoming the national Association of Broadcasters’ ‘Best College Radio Station,’ beating strong competition from dozens of stations across the nation and four fellow-finalists,” Lukasiewicz wrote. 

“Congratulations to all of the students and staff involved in this great achievement for WRHU and our school ... What a fantastic way to end a busy week at the LHSC.” 

Broadcasting music of all genres and a variety of specialized programs, Radio Hofstra University operates out of the Herbert School and is the only college station to exclusively broadcast a major league sports team: the New York Islanders.

While only a handful of staff members were at the ceremony, the award celebrated the hard work of the station’s large staff. 

“More importantly, we brought home a symbol of achievement for every single student and community volunteer that worked tirelessly over the last year to make our station the best,” Finkelson said.

“That was a once-in-a-lifetime experience, and not one given to everyone. I feel incredibly lucky to not only have gone, but to have won something so major.”

'Political Science talks Politics' and explains process of the presidency

'Political Science talks Politics' and explains process of the presidency

No Earth without 'art'