Welcome to the official, independent student-run newspaper of Hofstra University!

Mike Moore voted Second Team All-CAA, GMU's Pearson wins Player of the Year

By Joe Pantorno, Sports Editor

Mike Moore led the Colonial Athletic Association in scoring this season and was rewarded for that by being named to the CAA's All-Conference second team at Thursday night's postseason awards banquet.

Moore, Hofstra's star senior guard, averaged 20.0 points per game. Moore also ranked sixth in the CAA in steals, averaging 1.8 swipes per contest as well as being third in three-pointers made, averaging 2.5.

"It's a real honor to be voted as one of the ten best players in the conference, the CAA is a very strong conference," said Moore. "It was even more special that my teammates and my coaches were there to see it."

Senior guard Nathaniel Lester was recognized for his community service as he was one of 12 finalists for the Dean Ehlers Leadership Award.

Another Hofstra senior, guard Dwan McMilla,n received All-Academic First Team honors, while junior guard Matt Grogan was named an All-Academic Honorable Mention.

Hofstra, the no. 11 seed  in the CAA Championships, faces no. 6 Georgia State on Friday at 8:30. The winner will face no. 3 George Mason in the quarterfinals.

CAA Award Winners

Player of the Year: Ryan Pearson, George Mason

Coach of the Year:Bruiser Flint, Drexel

Rookie of the Year: Damion Lee, Drexel

Defensive Player of the Year: Kent Bazemore, Old Dominion

Dean Ehlers Leadership Award: Jihad Ali, Georgia State and Quinn McDowell, William and Mary

First Team: Kent Bazemore (Old Dominion), Bradford Burgess (VCU), Frantz Massenat (Drexel), Ryan Pearson (George Mason), Keith Rendleman (UNCW)

Second Team: Chris Cooper (Old Dominion), Samme Givens (Drexel), Jamelle Hagins (Delaware), Mike Moore (Hofstra), Devon Saddler (Delaware)

Third Team: Jihad Ali (Georgia State), Eric Buckner (Georgia State), Humpty Hitchens (James Madison), Jonathan Lee (Northeastern), Juvonte Reddic (VCU), Darius Theus (VCU)

All-Rookie Team: Quincy Ford (Northeastern), Damion Lee (Drexel), Adam Smith (UNCW), Marcus Thornton (William & Mary), Jarvis Threatt (Delaware)

All-Defensive Team: Kent Bazemore (Old Dominion), Eric Buckner (Georgia State), Jamelle Hagins (Delaware), Robert Nwankwo (Towson), Briante Weber (VCU)

All-Academic First Team: Jihad Ali (Georgia State), Trian Iliadis (Old Dominion), Quinn McDowell (William & Mary), Dwan McMillan (Hofstra), Tim Rusthoven (William & Mary)

All-Academic Second Team: Brandon Britt (William & Mary), James Fields (Georgia State), Erique Gumbs (Towson), Jonathan Lee (Northeastern), Tanner Milson (UNCW

Georgia State hands Hofstra record breaking loss in CAA Tournament

Jake's health corner